• Logo

     The WINGED FOOT SCHOLAR-ATHLETE AWARD is designed to recognize the top scholar athletes in Collier County’s high schools, public and private.

    The WINGED FOOT SCHOLARSHIP was created in the spirit of the Downtown Athletic Club’s Heisman Trophy.

    The program currently pays tribute to “Winged Foot Nominees” consisting of one senior scholar-athlete, selected by school officials, to represent each participating high school. In the week prior to the awards ceremony, each nominee will be featured in the Naples Daily News sports section. Heavy emphasis will be placed on academic and leadership achievements as well as athletic accomplishments.

    - Senior class member of high moral character.
    - Commitment to attend a fully accredited junior college, college or university.
    (Continuation in athletics not required)
    - Letter of recommendation from one coach.
    - Letter of recommendation from one teacher, other than a coach.
    - Cumulative grade point average through the first semester of senior year of at least 3.0.
    - Varsity letter earned in at least two FHSAA-sanctioned sports.

     As their school’s nominee, a transcript through the first semester of senior year.
    - As their school’s nominee, a personal interview with the Winged Foot Selection Committee.

    - Consideration for Advanced Placement and Honors classes.
    - Officer in any student government or official club/organization recognized by the school.
    - Member of the National Honor Society or National Merit Scholarship Foundation.
    - Member of any honorary or service group within or exclusive of school.
    - Career varsity letters earned.
    - Seasonal Most Valuable Player (MVP), All-County, District and State selection.
    - Participant in a state meet, match or championship game in sports in which the athlete earned a varsity letter.
    - State champion.

    Nominees receive a $5,000 scholarship and a plaque. The winner receives a $10,000 scholarship ($2,500 per year for four years) and a Winged Foot trophy. Additionally, the winner’s name will be engraved on the original Winged Foot trophy and proudly displayed at Gallagher Insurance.

     All applications will be due to Coach Scott, our Activities Coordinator, before CLOSED FOR 23-24 SCHOOL YEAR.

      Please allow sufficient time to acquire the required documents.

     Good luck and best wishes!

      Click on the link below for the Winged Foot application:

    Winged Foot application

    Kali Cleary will represent Gulf Coast High as our Winged Foot Nominee for 2024.  Kali was selected out of an elite group of student-athletes by our selection committee.  Kali is a four-year Varsity lacrosse player, a four-year Varsity swimmer, a two-year JV/one-year Varsity basketball player, and one-year Varsity female weightlifter.  She plans to attend University of South Florida on a four-year lacrosse scholarship and will be a part of the inaugural year USF women's lacrosse team.  She will major in Business and Finance. 

    Congratulations, Kali!

    Gulf Coast High School Winged Foot Winners

                                             Lee Campell - 2008

                                             Paul Gomes - 2018

                                                            Trace Davidson - 2021           

    GCHS Winged Foot Nominees:

    2000 - Emily M. Van Leeuwen

     2001 - Andrew Pacer

    2002 - Kristin Downey

    2003 - Sean Griffin

    2004 - Katie Jenner

    2005 - Ashlyn Bruce

    2006 - Lee Campbell (Winner)

    2007 - Jennifer Maybin

    2008 - Stephanie McNamara

    2009 - Molly Lawson

    2010 - Karina Mambuca

    2011 - Kristien Ma

    2012 - Matthew Colligan

    2013 - Kali Heller-Spencer

    2014 - Caroline Barlow

    2015 - William Shisler, Jr.

    2016 - Lukas Masterson

    2017 - Vasy Montague

    2018 - Paula Gomes (Winner)

    2019 - Tobey McDonough

    2020 - Justin Mattia

    2021 - Trace Davidson (Winner)

    2022 - Reese Tremitiere

    2023 - Peyton Davidson

    2024 - Kali Cleary